Japanese Motors – Luxury Wafers Live EP, ‘Whatever’ (Mp3)

by Landry on November 13, 2009

japanesemotors_09Luxury Wafers is excited and proud to present our first live EP digital release!

++ Japanese Motors Luxury Wafers Live EP ++ Click here to get it —>Japanese Motors - Luxury Wafers Live - Japanese Motors

Seven completely fresh songs from Costa Mesa’s Japanese Motors, known locally “for the insane, all-night blowouts they put on as much as for the driving, raucous garage pop they set the partying to.”

Incorporating the sun-baked sound of their native surf environs with lead vocals from Alex Knost delivered eerily a la Lou Reed, plus a hint of modern-day blues (lyrics like “I’ve got a new sensation and it, it feels like shit”), Japanese Motors tears it up with a slightly detached, couldn’t-give-a-rat’s-ass affect.

Japanese Motors’ three previous releases have all been on Vice Records: the first EP, Single Fins & Safety Pins, came out in August of 2008, followed by their self-titled album, Japanese Motors, in October of 2008 and their more recent, 3-song Single Fins & Safety Pins’ EP, in March of 2009. A brand new album, In Teenage Drag, is in the works now.

The band: Alex Knost on guitar and lead vocals (and pro surfing when he’s not behind the mic), Nolan Hall (whose dad met Al’s while surfing) on guitar, bass and vocals, Daniel Michicoff on bass and vocals and Andrew Atkinson (former Hurley designer) on drums.

Japanese Motors - Luxury Wafers Live EP Tracklist:

Whatever [mp3]

Drug Fuzz

Here’s Good Lookin’

Long Distance

Outdoor Miner

Post Pop

Teenage Drag

    Leave a Comment

    Previous post:

    Next post: