Luxury Wafers Exclusive: Laura Veirs, Live @ Chessvolt Studios

by Landry on November 11, 2009

Post image for Luxury Wafers Exclusive: Laura Veirs, Live @ Chessvolt Studios

Armed with a prodigious vocabulary, synchronism with nature and magically potent songwriting skill, Laura Veirs has the cutest little untarnished, no-nonsense voice that grabs the ears and tugs the heart for entrance, like an irresistible, wide-eyed child gently begging entry to your lap, book and blanket in tow. That first tug instantly unveils the opening of a thirsty vessel inside the fortunate listener. Once seated, Veirs’ pure and innocent voice, in concert with sonorous arrangements, melts to a delightful stream of flowing mead, equal parts comfort and enchantment – a stream you’ll find yourself wishing would never end.

The Portland-based artist has been making and releasing her solo albums since 1999. Since 2003, Laura’s albums have been produced, recorded and mixed by Tucker Martine (Bill Frisell, The Decemberists, Langhorne Slim, Death Cab For Cutie, The Builders and The Butchers) and adorned by special contributions from their illustrious musical family of friends including Jim James, Bill Frisell, Amy Denio, Fred Chalenor, Karl Blau, Steve Moore, Eyvind Kang and Stephen Barber. In turn, Veirs has appeared on everybody else’s albums, too.

Meeting Laura Veirs and her quirky, earthy/bookwormy crew, the last thing you’d think of is a name-dropping fest. Instead, Laura, through her music, evokes warm, intellectual forest sprite, an unselfconscious goddess in touch with the varied rhythms of human emotion and the pulse of seasons.

July Flame will be Veirs’ 7th solo release, due out early 2010.  “Laura’s like the queen bee and my ear is her hive; she nests and makes honey in the hairs of my cochlea,” says Jim James of My Morning Jacket (who sings on several tracks).

Listen to the Exclusive Live Tracks (option/click to download):

Where Are You Driving? [mp3]

Spelunking [mp3]

Ether Strings [mp3]

Icebound [mp3]

Secret Someones [mp3]

Here’s where you’ll find the album recordings of the songs from Laura Veirs’ live Luxury Wafers session: Where Are You Driving? from the upcoming July Flame (2010, Raven Marching Band). Secret Someones and Spelunking from Year of Meteors (2005, Nonesuch). Ether Strings and Icebound from Carbon Glacier (2004, Nonesuch).

CLICK HERE to view “The Making of July Flame.”

    { 1 comment… read it below or add one }

    Fern January 5, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Thanks for posting these! Looking forward to the new album.

    Leave a Comment

    Previous post:

    Next post: